Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 21st, 2008

3/21/1983

“Hi, this is me. Yes, today is my birthday and yes, you may leave a message saying how happy you are that I’m turning 25. And whatever you’re calling about, the answer is yes.”

Major props to anyone who knows what that quote is from. So obviously from the above, today is my 25th birthday and I am spending it out on Cape Cod with my mother, Ruth, Newton and Sophie. My birthday present, of which I was completely not expecting anything, was huge this year. I mean really huge, completely practical and absolutely wonderful. An eye exam and new glasses! Yes, I know this sounds boring and not big, but do you know how much something like that costs? A lot. A lot. A lot. I’m so thankful to Mom and Ruth that they did this for me.

So I’m 25 today. Well, to be precise I’ll be 25 in 47 minutes exactly. You all know that I was slightly freaked by this but that was just me blowing this whole thing out of whack. I guess it isn’t that big a deal. But it does feel like a turning point, a milestone. You can’t be a kid anymore at 25 and while my situation at 25 will be almost identical to that of 24, this is the first time I have really felt like an adult. I don’t know how I feel about that.

I’ve been through a lot in 25 years and I’ve accomplished a lot in 25 years. Perhaps what is so scary is that there isn’t a definite path for the next 25. The first quarter of your life is very structured. You learn to walk, talk, dress, use the potty. You go to grade school then middle school then high school. You graduate and go to college and then graduate and get a job. You get a place to live and eventually start working your way up the food chain.

And while there is still a ton of food chain to go, better apartments to be had, better money to make, the next big thing in life is either marriage, child, or retirement. The latter is too far away, the middle is way too scary to think about, and the first is nowhere near happening for me anytime soon. I’m a what’s-next? person without an idea of what is next.

All that being said, it is my birthday and I am that self-centered that I actually do care and celebrate my birthday. I’m having a great time and I bought myself my first piece of real jewelry. It is gorgeous. I guess the next big one is 30. That doesn’t scare me, not yet anyway. 🙂

I’ll leave you with another quote from the same place the one from above is from:

“Thank you for including me in your thought, your lives, your families. Yes, thank you.”

Read Full Post »