Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 22nd, 2008

So my mom calls at 8:01pm and says that they are doing Andrew Lloyd Webber tonight on Idol so I’m going to check it out. This could be not good. Webber, though it seems pop and commercial, is not easy music. Not as hard as Sondheim but not much is.

And Webber is known to be a huge jerk so it is funny seeing them try to portray him in a good light.

Whoever this first girl is is good. Too bad I have NO idea what song this is or where it comes from. I’m guessing Starlight Express? I like her hair though.

NEXT

This guy’s hair(?) is not my cup of tea. And he’s singing “Memory”. I do not like this song on a guy, it takes away the desperation of the song. Does this guy even understand this song? Ick, I don’t like it. Plus it is too low for him. Oh my dear God, this beautiful song has been Idoled. Nope, didn’t like that one at all. I agree with Randy. The song was too big for this guy. But lets not blame the song. It is one of Webber’s better songs.

Next!

Blonde chick singing “You Must Love Me” from the Evita movie. I call bulls— on this one. That song is not a Broadway song. It is the popiest of songs Webber has and is a song that doesn’t even fit the character in that show. Did she just start over? Can she even carry a tune? She obviously can’t stay in tune. Man, don’t like Brooke. I must hate her. 🙂 Yeah, that wasn’t good. And honestly, this song’s lyrics aren’t that difficult. Seriously.

Next please.

So this David kid. I’ve heard his name and I’m thinking he’s the one people have told me is really good.

Wow. “Think of Me” sung by a guy? This will be interesting. I’m not sure anybody has tried that. Hard song. I’ve tried many times to sing this beast. Wow, that’s pretty damn good. This is better than the original version of the song. Yeppers, that was a goodie. He looks 12 years old though. Oh wow, it is so rare that I disagree with Simon but this time I do. Oh well.

Next. I need to check on the PA Primary.

I was gonna say, I hate hate hate “All I Ask of You” and I love “Jesus Christ Superstar” on a girl. I think a contestant on that Grease reality show last summer did it and it was awesome. She better rock this one.

Too slow, speed it up girl. This might not swing in the red states either. 🙂 This isn’t bad but it isn’t very exciting either. And she’s yelling more than she’s singing. Only okay in my book. Ha and Simon (semi) agreed with me.

And finally…

During commercial break: I don’t know the style of this last guy but I would really love to see someone do “Love Changes Everything” which was actually on the UK pop charts for weeks back around 1989/1990. Hard song but, if you got the voice for it, amazing song. I’d also love to see “Whistle Down the Wind” or “No Matter What” both from WDTW. There’s a bunch to choose from. Oh and is Paula always like this? I haven’t watched since season 3.

NOOOOO, not “Music of the Night”!!!!!! That’s one of my favorite musical theater songs period. Very sentimental song for me and I don’t want to hear this guy ruin it. Eek, I’m not sure I can watch.

AHHHHHH, he’s murdering the notes!!!!! Someone call the police. My brother’s rolling in his grave right now. Oh, was that too morbid? Sorry. 😦 :::goes to hide:::

Make it stop, please make it stop. Singing “Music of the Night” with no emotion and then he got the fucking words mixed up! This is enough to make me cry – and not in the way you are supposed to at this song. That was painful.

What? Randy, you so wrong!!!!! Ack, Paula and Simon? Were they all listening to something I wasn’t? That was just awful, I’m sorry. The dude butchered that song.

Overall, I’m not impressed with this night. The first girl and that David Archuleta (sp?) were the best and the others were stinkers. Sorry to all of you that love Idol and just read me pissing on it. 🙂 I enjoyed watching at least. Don’t hate me.

You want to hear how an Andrew Lloyd Webber song should really be performed? Here you go:

Read Full Post »

Work, Work, Work

How early was at work this morning? Here’s a hint: it is 9:48am and I’m nearing the end of listening to Les Miserables.

Gotta love it. These reports are taking forever to run.

Read Full Post »