Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 8th, 2008

Pardon me as I transform into a teenage girl for a post.

New Twilight poster is out in anticipation for the release of the final film trailer set for this Friday. Nervous about the movie. Very nervous. I don’t see how it can be as enjoyable as the book was but hopefully it can exist as the Harry Potter films do compared to those books as a version of the story that is separate but still part of that world.

So here it is:

Heh. I’m not thrilled with it. Like everyone else is saying all over the internets, Robert Pattinson as Edward looks very weird in this poster. He’s supposed to be pale, his eyes a different color, and I assume he’s supposed to be seductively dangerous looking but it just doesn’t come off right. He’s lost any of the romantic nature of Edward in this, something I hope is just a not-so-great publicity shot and not part of the character in the movie.

Anyhoo, it comes out November 21st and while I’m almost assuredly seeing it alone, I still cannot wait. I’m even getting coworkers into the books before unleashing them on my mom at the end of the month.

Read Full Post »

My new favorite word: clownicide. That’s hilarious, in fiction of course. Unlike a clown, I’m not a monster.

To be fair, I only saw the last 20 minutes of this episode as I was a little late coming home from dinner. So I missed all of the clowns except for a quick snapshot of them towards the end. It was funny though that I called Ruth (to wish her happy birthday) and my mom when I got off the bus and she told me that if I wasn’t already watching, she doesn’t think I should watch tonight’s episode. She said the clowns were scary looking ones. She knows me well as these were exactly the type of clowns that scare the hell out of me. They just look mean.

I don’t like that Ned and Chuck are starting over, even if the door thing at the end was tres adorable. And how cute was Lee Pace when he was talking to himself in bed?! I laughed out loud when Olive opened that big bible to find a very large bottle of booze hidden inside.

I guess this is one episode I’ll have to catch when the DVD comes out as I don’t think I need to see the beginning. The thing is, even if the clowns were murdered and forced to drive into a murky lake, they are clowns. Clowns are evil. Should I feel bad for them? Maybe if they weren’t in their clown costumes I could.

Creepiest thing of all was that the girl’s name in this episode was mine! Eek!

I love the preview for next week. That looks so awesome. Thank God (haha) I’m getting DVR Saturday so I can record it while my dad’s here. Something tells me he wouldn’t like this show.

Read Full Post »

That One

ETA: NYT has a cool article about someone who has already made shirts:

Thank you, John McCain. Those two little words will be dissected more than anything else you said last night, to the favor of Barack Obama. That and your inane proposal of buying up mortgages. “That one” is gonna pounce all over you.

Read Full Post »

This is a shallow post, I’ll warn you straight off.

I went shoe shopping last night. After working so much lately, I decided to take some – not all – of the money I earned and get myself some new clothes. When I couldn’t find new clothes, I decided to treat myself to some new shoes. I spent an hour at DSW last night and got 3 pair for only $130! One was originally 60 and I got them half off and one was originally 70 and I got it 40% off (I love you clearance rack!). Because I did so good on those, I found a GORGEOUS pair of ankle black leather boots and I paid full price for those. ๐Ÿ™‚ I got one red, one brown, and one black. I’m wearing the red today and while my feet hurt from the shoes I wore yesterday, I’m relishing in wearing these today. I’ve gotten a lot of compliments so far. That sounds so bad but whatever. I hardly ever want people to notice me so I’ll take it when I can get it.

Read Full Post »

Anyone know what show that is from? Hint: Who restored Angel’s soul the first time in the Buffyverse?

You know things are bad when the morning after a presidential debate, you have to scroll down the front page of The New York Times to see any mention of it. If you haven’t heard, apparently the entire world is now suffering from an economic crisis.

And I do so love being the center of attention. Folks, can we really deny that we are going into a depression now? Very not good news.

I wish either one of the candidates last night would have said something to make me feel better about this crisis. Obama needs to step it up. It isn’t good enough to be leading in the polls. If he really is the agent of change we’ve been looking for, this election can’t just be about winning. He needs to now win over the people who are resigned to voting for him or we’re gonna have a backlash come Inauguration Day and beyond.

Read Full Post »