Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 5th, 2009

After a bad two weeks of not exercising, I bought three new Biggest Loser workout DVDs last week. The one I’ve just started trying is Bob’s Weightloss Yoga. Designed to be a more intense yoga workout with lots of fat burning and muscle building, Level 1 is a 35 minute session that will have you crying out in pain if you’ve never done yoga before.

Don’t get me wrong, the workout is pretty good. I know it’s good because an hour and a half after doing the workout, every single muscle in my arms, legs and back are screaming at me. But it isn’t easy. It might be easy for those of you who have done yoga before but not for me. I’m not flexible enough to do some of the poses without modification and the intense focus on the plank and downward dog positions pretty much kill me because I don’t have much upper body strength (any I have is in my legs).

On the plus side, it is a low-impact workout which I like right now as the constant wearing of heels at the Opera House have left my feet and knees very rotten (one more week there, one more week!). And because it is low-impact, I think I can do this one in the wee hours of the morning which is when I prefer to work out instead of after coming home from work when I’m already tired, stressed, and hungry. Also, this one has Bernie from two seasons ago on it and I loved Bernie.

So we’ll see how this one goes. The other two I got are Bob’s Boot Camp and Jillian’s 30-day Shred. I’m terrified to try both but especially the latter. I love Jillian but people keep telling/warning me about that one.

Read Full Post »

To be totally honest, all I should need to say here is GO SEE THIS MOVIE! Monsters vs. Aliens was a complete joy to watch, start to finish. I was laughing so hard at parts that my eyes were tearing up. But if my take on it isn’t enough to entice you, here are three top reasons to go see this:

  1. The voices, the voices! Hugh Laurie, Will Arnett, Seth Rogan, Rainn Wilson, Keifer Sutherland, John Krasinski, Amy Poehler, Ed Helms and, of course, Stephen Colbert as the President. Oh and Paul Rudd. Yes these are just the voices of those actors but it still put a smile on my face anytime I heard Arnett’s distinct voice or Seth Rogen’s laugh. You could just go see it for Colbert and come away satisfied.
  2. The 3-D animation is awesome. I’m not a fan of 3-D, it usually hurts my eyes to watch, but this full length feature didn’t make my head hurt at all. And it didn’t resort to cheap 3-D tricks all the way through (there were some things that popped out at you but not a lot). Instead, the depth which the animators achieved in this will astound you. You forget you are watching 3-D – that is, until you look at your neighbor wearing the ridiculous glasses. 🙂
  3. The movie itself is actually pretty good. The writing is at times insanely clever and at times really silly but you end up laughing at all of it. The story is good too, a real female empowerment story and one about unlikely friendship that comes across in a really charming way. I’m not going to give away some of the jokes as that will ruin it for you.

And finally, if all of the above has not convinced you to go see this yet, I have three more things to say.

The cutest monster ever:

monsters-vs-aliens-8-4

Mr. President, made of awesome:

2009_monsters_vs_aliens_042

And, well there really aren’t words for Bob:

monsters_vs_aliens_seth_rogen_bob_pic_2

Go see this movie!

Read Full Post »