Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 29th, 2009

So I was all in a rush this morning to get my photos developed from my last two trips to New York City and the digital CD I got of the photos is corrupt so I can’t post them on here. GRRRRR! So, just use your imagination.

Anyway, had an awesome weekend trip to NYC with friend of the blog Sarah this past weekend. We met up at about noonish and after a brief unloading of luggage at our hotel on 6th Ave, we headed out to Central Park, just gabbing and walking around for a few hours. Eventually we landed on a bench on Central Park West and just people watched for awhile. It was very nice. The weather was perfect: 80s, sunny with a nice breeze.

Here is where a picture of the Booth Theater where Next to Normal was playing would have been.

Saturday night we went to see Next To Normal which, after a full today of listening to the CD non-stop, might be my new favorite musical. Before the show and after a brief yet intense rain downpour, we went to a nifty burger place just off of Times Square for appetizers. Cannot for the life of me think of the name but the food was good and decently priced. I already have gushed about the show. After we went to another really cool restaurant off of Times Square. Can’t remember the name unfortunately but it was next to a dueling piano bar. This restaurant, and this is no joke and no exageration, had the best burger I’ve ever had in my life. The thing was huge and thick and juicy, covered with barbeque sauce that was also some of the best I’ve ever had. That burger was the best thing I’ve eaten all year, no question.

here is where a picture of what was left of the burger would have been.

Sunday morning after Sarah and I left are laughably tiny two bed hotel room, we went to walk the Brooklyn Bridge (I admit I got the directions a little wrong, sorry about that!) The Brooklyn Bridge was pretty damn awesome. I had never been there before and it’s always fun to do something new. Got loads of great pictures:

Here is me on the Manhattan side of the bridge, getting ready to go over. See I’m supporting my Mets!:

Here is a view of the Statue of Liberty, awesome cause I hadn’t seen it since I was like 4:

Here is Manhattan from the Brooklyn side of the bridge:

Here is my signature picture of Sarah and I, taken by yours truly. Gettin’ pretty good at those:

Cute right? I still hate how I look in pictures. You don’t have to disagree. 🙂

On the way back to our hotel to pick up luggage, we came across the annual gay pride parade going down 5th Ave. We had some extra time so we stopped to watch for about half an hour. It was a pretty festive atmosphere though I had expected the parade to be more flamboyant than it was. It was mostly just people marching down the street and us cheering at their various messages of diversity and sexual tolerance.

Here’s some of the floats:

Here’s one of a particularly striking queen. I really loved her frilly rainbow thing she had on:

I have to say though, I’ve seen much better drag queens walking around Provincetown but hey. 🙂

So that was pretty much it. Sarah’s bus was a little before mine so I went to the Borders by the bus stop and got the Next to Normal CD and ended up chatting with the cashier about the show which she loved too.

The bus ride home really suckedas the bus had little to no air conditioning and we got stuck in traffic for like an hour trying to get out of the city and then again getting onto the Mass Turnpike. Stuck in traffic in New York, I really thought I wasn’t going to make it. It was so hot and stuffy on that bus I could barely breathe but it did seem to get better as we went along. Still, 5 hours to get from New York to Boston is a little extreme I think. I have more to say on that subject but I’ll save it for another post.

Besides that little blip, it was a very fun weekend. And once again, I realized how much I would love to live in New York. To spend a day people watching in Central Park, go to all these fabulous shows, the museums, just walking around the city and being a part of that energy – it all appeals to me very much. Some day I guess. 🙂

Oh, and I finally have figured out where that big ass New York & Company store is in the city! East upper 50s on Lexington by Bloomingdales. Girls, we HAVE to go. It looked huge!

Read Full Post »