Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 28th, 2007

Broadwayworld.com (and many others) are reporting that the Broadway Local One Stagehands strike is over!

http://broadwayworld.com/viewcolumn.cfm?colid=23231

News pending.

I really hope this is true and that Broadway can get back to business!

And the WGA Strike negotiations are going on again tomorrow. I have to think that more talk is good, so I’m crossing my fingers on that one as well.

Off to watch my Michael Buble concert DVD from Netflix. Anyone who wants to make fun of me for that needs to ask themselves if it is really a surprise that I like Michael Buble considering the other things I listen to. 😡

Read Full Post »

In order

Honorary Mention: The Family Stone (2005) – Most depressing Christmas movie to come out in the last 20 years. But really good movie.

10. Elf (2003) – Proved to me that Will Ferrel can do more than gross-out humor. He was so endearing in this movie. It has its problems, but my favorite scene is when Ferrel jumps onto the Christmas Tree. 🙂

9. The Santa Claus (1994) – Okay, now I feel old. That movie is from 1994?! Oh my God. Anyway, I love this one. Good-natured fun and probably the best movie Tim Allen ever did.

8. Love Actually (2003) – Love story with a Christmas backdrop. Colin Firth, Hugh Grant, Liam Neeson, Thomas Sangster who is the most adorable child actor ever, Emma Thompson, Alan Rickman…do I really need to go on?

7. Meet Me in St. Louis (1944) – Contains my favorite Christmas song of all time: “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.” Though the majority of the film does not take place at Christmas, that song and the brilliant, emotional performance of Judy Garland during the Christmas scenes make it that for me. About a family in St. Louis who think they will move in the new year. Amazing movie.

6. The Bells of St. Mary (1945) – Bing Crosby is a priest, Ingrid Bergman a nun and they work with kids. One of them gets sick by the end. Watch with tissues, but definitely watch it. A new favorite.

5.  Home Alone (1990) – Because I’m from the generation that this movie was made for. Grew up watching Kevin survive in the house all by himself. He’s so mean to the bad guys though. Do not try this at home. 🙂

4. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) – Some would call this the quintessential Christmas film. James Stewart as a guy who almost kills himself then sees the world as it would have been if he’d never been born. Rugrats, the cartoon, did a take on this in one of my favorite episodes featuring Chucky. It is not Christmas without watching this movie.

3. Scrooged (1988) – I hate the “Christmas Carol” story, but I love, LOVE this movie. Bill Murray stars in a take-off of the classic “Christmas Carol” story. It is funny and sentimental all at the same time. And the mute kid gets me every time.

2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989) – Yes, I do pick this movie as my second favorite holiday movie. Been watching it since it came out and I just adore the movie. Chevy Chase is so funny in it. I love the part where he puts all the lights on the house and when he turns it on, it blinds the neighbors and is brighter than just about anything else. Star-studded cast too: Doris Roberts, Juliette Lewis, Jonathan Galecki (David from “Roseanne”), and Julia Louis-Dreyfus. The speeding sleds are funny too.

1. A Christmas Story (1983) – A movie from the year I was born. There is no doubt this is my favorite Christmas movie. I always watch the 24 hours of “A Christmas Story” on TNT each Christmas. I could probably recite the movie. Ralphie and his bebe gun, the Dad’s awful lamp, the tongue on the frozen post…it is all great. Most memorable line: “You’ll shoot your eye out.”

I dare you to disagree with the list. Have I left anything out? Oh, and BTW, The Sound of Music is not a Christmas film and the song “My Favorite Things” is not, and never will be, a Christmas song to me. Harry Potter movies aren’t Christmas movies either.

Read Full Post »

SWEENEY TODD CLIPS!!!!!!

http://www.playbill.com/news/article/113098.html

Haven’t watched any yet, but YAY!!!!!

EDIT: OMG! The two clips I have watched are amazing! I cannot wait for this movie.

EDIT 2: Alan Rickman clip!!! http://www.iesb.net/index.php?option=com_seyret&Itemid=227&task=videodirectlink&id=193

WOW, he is SOOOOOO Professor Snape!

All of the clips are good, highly suggest going to this site and watching all of it. That is, if you already know the Sweeney Todd story. If you don’t, don’t spoiler yourself.

And holy crap! Johnny Depp actually can sing. Well! http://www.iesb.net/index.php?option=com_seyret&Itemid=227&task=videodirectlink&id=192

Read Full Post »

Happy Birthday

Jon Stewart and Paul Dinello! Both born on Nov. 28, 1962. Both 45 today. (Go look at a current pic of Jon Stewart and then look at a picture of Paul Dinello and tell me if you think they look the same age. 🙂 ) Oh how I heart Mr. Jellineck. It was exactly one year ago today that I was lucky enough to see the man – IN PERSON!

swcmovie02.jpgOkay, he wasn’t performing. He was at the taping of The Colbert Report that I went to one year ago today. On the commercial break, he came out from backstage after Colbert called for him a couple times and took a bow for his first “Colbert County/Museum” segment. He came out between the seat stands and waved, looking insanely shy but also quite happy. He had a lot of stubble and his hair was a mess, also he was wearing those thick, black framed glasses. I remember we all were going crazy for “Tad” and then he looked down at me where I was sitting (seat #1 thank you very much) and there was a moment. Why I didn’t shout out Happy Birthday or something I have no idea. I do remember having the urge to hug him. I think I was a little overwhelmed by the whole experience. Still, I was as close to Mr. Dinello as I now am to to my computer. Ah, memories.

picture0151.jpg

Paul Dinello goodness in celebration:

PaulDinello.net – Has everything you ever wanted to know about the man and then some. Excellent interview archives and multimedia. The Jellineck picture above came from here as well. 🙂

Exit 57: “Dancing Muchachos” youtube video – I love Paul’s dancing in this!

Strangers With Candy: “Hit and Run” youtube video – Mr. Jellineck gets hit by a car, driven by Jerri.

And I have to include the Stella performance of “Devil Went Down to Georgia”

12271548-12271551-slarge.jpgAnd as I love Jon Stewart as well, a very funny video of Jon and an unfortunate incident at a Mets game:

First Pitch

Read Full Post »