Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 13th, 2008

A Manning wins, a Manning loses. But wait, it isn’t the one you think. Yes, my football mind was blown today. The Indianapolis Colts LOSE to the San Diego Chargers (each team being brutally beaten up in the process) and the New York Giants WIN – that’s right, WIN – against the Dallas Cowboys. Was Jessica Simpson secretly hiding in the Dallas stadium? I can’t believe the Giants won. Very happy about that. Not only because I think the Patriots can beat all three teams left in the playoffs, but I like Eli Manning and the Giants aren’t all bad now that Tiki Barber is out of the picture. Jon Stewart will be so happy. That was a pretty entertaining day of football. Two very close games.

So I only got one game right this weekend, but it was the one that meant the most. I think Green Bay is going to kill the Giants and I definitely think Brady & Co. will beat the stinkin’ Chargers. Patriots vs. Packers in the Super Bowl? Bring it.

I wonder how Peyton is feeling right now?

Read Full Post »

So I was wrong

Unless a miracle happens in the next 5 minutes, the Colts are going to lose in the upset of the weekend so far. So I guess it is the Chargers who the Pats will destroy next week. C’est la vie.

Read Full Post »

Let the fun begin!

I can’t think of a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than watching NFL playoff games and reading up on the 2008 Presidential candidates.

I’ll admit to being wishy-washy over the past few weeks about who to support for this insanely important election, but I feel fairly confident in my choice now. Yell at me all you want, I’m supporting and voting for Hillary Clinton. She has the eloquence, the experience, and the strength that our next president is absolutely going to need and she represents a modified change in leadership and direction for the country. Her positions on Iraq and Iran sound appropriately cautious and smart to me, she supports promoting better environmental choices and a healthcare plan that would encompass everyone, having the government and employers work together. In civil rights, she is about as close as any of them are on the gay-marriage issue to what I believe in and she supports abortion rights. My gut feeling is that she is better equipped for the office than Obama who I think would be too impressionable by the D.C. powerhouses to be trusted to do everything he is promising to do. Race has nothing to do with my decision, but you can bet your sweet bippy (my mom’s phrase) that gender plays into it a little. I think our country is more than ready to put the next 4-8 years in the hands of a well-educated, smart-thinking, experienced woman as opposed to a man (of any race) who has served only 4 years in the Senate and insists on bashing his opponent. I feel like Obama is the trendy candidate and I don’t usually go for that. Not to say I don’t like him, he seems okay. Good for VP maybe.

I know at least some of you disagree with me on this subject and I very much welcome conversation about it. If hearing about Hillary makes your blood boil, I suggest taking some kind of pill before coming here, because she is who I’m supporting this year. Her website has been added to the blogroll.

Cheers! (go Colts! I don’t want the Pats to play the Chargers next week)

Read Full Post »

58440010.jpg

Today is Newton’s 5th birthday! Happy Birthday Buddy!

Read Full Post »

First off – WOOT!!!!! 17-0 baby! What a game that was! The Patriots ran the ball – what?

Anyway, I guess being the NFL MVP, pro-bowler, and Offensive Player of the Year (to name just a few recognitions) is not enough for some people to call you a great quarterback. After their loss last night, Jacksonville Jaqwires (I stand by my pronounciation of that word) Reggie Nelson has this to say about Tom Brady: “He ain’t all that … He’s all right.”

Uh, what? Brady’s passing record yesterday was 26-28, the difference being two dropped balls. That “pop” fake play they did in the red zone alone should elevate Brady to being more than “all right.” At least Yahoo! Sports laid off their relentless hounding of the Patriots to acknowledge the ridiculousness of the comments. Here is the article: Jag on Brady: ‘He ain’t all that’.

Once again, we have a sore loser on our hands. At least the rest of the Jags didn’t echo that statement. Nelson does know that he’ll have to play the Pats again at some point, right?

Read Full Post »