Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 22nd, 2008

Did anyone stay up for The Colbert Report Tuesday night? There was a segment on the 1969 Civil Rights conflicts in Charleston, South Carolina. One of the chief negotiators? COLBERT’S DAD! That totally made me tear up. That was the most heartfelt and heartwarming segment ever and now Andrew Young is the guest and he’s gonna make me cry. In case you didn’t know, Colbert’s dad, Dr. James W. Colbert, died about 5 years afterwards. Oh my God, Colbert’s exuberance is killing me right now. 

Absolutely unbelievable. He ended the show leading the Harlem Gospel Choir, Malcom Gladwell, and Andrew Young in a rendition of “Let My People Go” dedicated to his striking writers.

That was an amazing show, a milestone for this program. This might’ve just entered Daily Show territory. A good portion was very serious but incredibly heartfelt and sincere. Colbert was no longer the blustering idiot, but the actual guy stating loud and clear how much he misses his writers. And what an honor it must have been to have a discussion with someone who worked so closely with his father, to be able to use his show as a vehicle to showcase this particular moment in Civil Rights history. It means a lot to the loyal fans of this show to be rewarded with such a deep episode. It also means a lot to any of us who have lost close family members to be able to honor them in such a way. I hope I can do that someday with my brother.

Oye, I can’t believe I got so emotional over an episode of The Colbert Report. I’m either way too obsessed, way too tired and sick, or I’m just too damn sensitive.

This better make news tomorrow.

ETA: No Fact Zone has all of the videos from last night’s show up on their site. Most have been avoiding Comedy Central vids due to the strike, but seriously, this is not to be missed. Check it out. It is so apparent how proud Colbert is of his father and how supportive he is of his writers.

Read Full Post »

Friday Night Lights?

Okay, so everyone seems to be in love with the TV show Friday Night Lights. I’ll admit that I have never watched the show. I just went to Netflix to add Season One to my queue and discovered that you can watch, from what it looks like, all of Season One on instant viewing – a feature that just recently became unlimited. If it weren’t for Biggest Loser starting in 10 minutes and me feeling really sick, I would totally start watching. As it is, it will just have to wait. I hope I like it as much as everyone else seems to. I know it is about a high-school football team. Does it have a lot of football in it? I’m a big football junkie, participated in my marching band for five years, going to every football team of every season. It would be cool if they had a lot of that action in it but I get if it is more about the drama in these people’s lives. I like that lead guy (can’t think of his name). I’ve seen him in other stuff.

Another show I would love to catch up on on Netflix is Bones with David Boreanez. I loved Angel and I watched the first handful of episodes of this show when it first came on. Along those same lines, I finally saw half an episode of House over the weekend and found it quite enjoyable. If only I had the time to watch all this crap!

Read Full Post »

I feel yucky

Sometimes I actually don’t mind being sick. You get to spend the whole day in bed, watch daytime TV and just take a breather and not be expected to do anything on you to-do list. Today was not that day. I went to work for two hours and progressively felt worse and worse throughout that 120 minutes. I was feeling sick to my stomach, I had cramps (though that was caused by something else), had a severe chill and could not get warm, and just felt overall weakness. It got to the point where I was so distracted by how I was feeling that I wasn’t able to accomplish anything so I took the rest of the day off. I figured that I might as well go home and go to bed if I wasn’t getting anything done anyway and feeling yucky. I came home and went to sleep for about an hour and a half which is pretty good for me when I don’t feel well. Got up and felt better and I was all “yay! I’m not really sick.” Thought too soon. It is now 7:35pm, I’ve been up for about 3 hours and I feel totally gross again. I think I may have to go back to bed.

And the sucky thing is that I really just cannot afford to be sick right now. I have everynight night from now until February 2nd completely booked. I get Saturday afternoon off and that is completely it and I have to spend that time cleaning. Not complaining about how busy the next weeks are going to be but it will be very bad if I don’t feel well during that time. Ugh, and I have so much to do here at home and with Longwood. I just want to go bed right now. 😦

I don’t like being sick. And I had gone such a long time without being sick. I think it has been since mid-summer which is really good for me cause I tend to get sick quite a bit.

Read Full Post »

OMG

Heath Ledger died. Found in his apartment this afternoon dead. They think it might be drugs. That is so sad. Not only was he a good actor, but he had a little child with Michelle Williams.

Read Full Post »

Ugh

I hate being sick 😦

Read Full Post »

I was going to lead off this morning with more coverage of last night’s Democratic debate, the Oscar nominations that were announced this morning or even a tiny recap of my weekend trip to Pittsburgh (yes, I held a baby and no, I didn’t drop him). But this takes priority over all of those things.

I’m sure you all have heard about it or seen the pictures by now. Tom Brady is wearing a boot on his right foot. Apparently he was a little “nicked up” during the game on Sunday. He told WEEI yesterday that he’ll be fine and it is nothing serious but this is #12 we are talking about. On the bus this morning, I went through my crisis hypotheticals. What if Brady is listed as questionable? What if he’s injured more during the game? Can the Patriots still win with Cassell? I think any little thing like this is enough to send some of us fans over the edge at such a crucial time.

Anyway, here’s the story from The Boston Globe: ‘Nicked up’ Patriots quarterback Brady favoring right foot. I like that he is carrying flowers. I wonder if he is bringing them to Giselle or if someone gave them to him.

ETA: Okay, this is getting out of hand. I’ll admit to being concerned this morning about Brady but since then, pictures have emerged with him not wearing the cast plus numerous insiders have said it is not a big deal. Yet ESPN and local news is devoting all of their NFL time to this. Everyone needs to calm down.

Read Full Post »